To begin, a short geography lesson. I have a couple followers in America, so those of you living in Sweden will just have to bear with me.


Sweden is a beautiful country filled with mountains, forrests, archipelagos, lakes and streams. That is, unless you live in southern Sweden. Southern Sweden is filled with beaches, farmland and grassy plains. 

I'm not complaining! I love the beach, I love farming, and I have nothing against a nice grassy plain. But as far as foraging goes, nothing beats the Swedish forrest.

My friend Laurie (she of the tomatillo plant) has a cabin on an island off the west coast of Sweden, where we have enjoyed many lovely visits, as seen here...


This island not only has all the advantages of coastal life, with fishing and boating and fabulous scenery, it is also heavily wooded. Paradise for foraging mushrooms and berries.

Laurie recently returned from their vaccation at the cabin, and she brought me two lovely liters of blueberries, picked by her three lovely sons.


She also gave me a tip for cleaning them of all the leaves and debris: roll them across a wet cutting board.


I poured some out, and started rolling. 


It worked! The debris stuck to the board and the berries rolled cleanly onward.


The cutting board had to be rinsed periodically, and sometimes the berries ran wild off the edges, but these problems could be easily fixed by using a larger cutting board. 

Notice the little bowl of lingon that followed along? Bonus! Just enough to flavor a stew of game meat in the fall.

A tip worth passing on. Thanks Laurie! And a big thanks to her boys, for all the hard work!

Kommentera

Publiceras ej