All the eating and drinking of summer vaccation has caught up with me (I'm sure I'm not alone), and so I've been trying to eliminate carbs and sugars from my diet. The hardest meal is lunch, where I'm pretty accustomed to sandwiches. In order to manage this midday repast without bread, I turn to my garden for inspiration.


I harvested a second batch of peas today. Had to shuck them myself, as my oldest child was at work, and the other three still in bed. That is what I get for shucking peas at 9:00am.

Peas are quite starchy, and not allowed on some low-carb diets, but they are good for you and growing in abundance in my garden, so I ignore that little fact. The dill is almost finished for the season, and my lettuce is quite leggy, but I gathered enough together for a salad.


The dressing for the salad was pretty basic: creme fraiche, lemon zest and juice, Dijon mustard, dill and a little salt. 

The fresh peas had to be blanched, but if you're using peas from the freezer they can just be thawed. Sugar snap peas could be sliced and tossed in the salad instead, or in addition to regular peas. The lettuce should be sliced thinly, like one would cabbage for cole slaw. Blend the veg with the dressing, then add the protein.

I chose shrimp and crayfish tails, but crabmeat would also work very well. Even grilled chicken would be good, if you have that laying around in the fridge.


With farm-fresh eggs and tomatoes, it makes a lovely low-carb lunch. But it also works well on knäckebröd, Swedish hard bread.

Bon apetit!

Kommentera

Publiceras ej