I have mixed feelings about August. Weather wise it's lovely, but it's also the month I have to go back to work after my lovely summer vaccation. It couldn't be a worse time to go back to work, either, because the garden is full of things to be harvested!


We have beans, we have red onions, and we have peas!


The girls had a fun time learning to shuck peas. It was probably only fun because it was a novelty. If they had to do it too often, I'm sure they wouldn't be smiling.


Their hard work paid off!


Our daily harvest for Saturday looked like this:


I thought that was the last of the strawberries, but this morning I picked another cup. Those were certainly the last.... Or were they? I'll take them as long as I can get them.

August is also plum and apple month, so when those berries finally run out, we won't be hurting for fruit. Then come the blackberries.

The beginning of August is also time to celebrate my son Calle's birthday! To prepare for the big date my dad made a big batch of strawberry ice cream.


Axel helped.


This ice cream was so good. So incredibly good. Really really good. 

So the big day arrived, as did the guests...


...and this is what we served them (from the garden): a jalapeño popper dip (filled with parsley) and cucumber sticks. Tenderloin with red wine sauce (the sauce had too whole heads of roasted garlic in it. Yum!), twice baked potatoes filled with chives, grilled asparagus with thyme, and a caprese salad with home-grown tomatoes and basil. For dessert there was the strawberry ice cream, merringues with mascarpone and red currants, and chocolate strawberry cake. The table decorations were also home-grown!

Here's a picture of the birthday boy with his cake and ice cream:


Happy birthday, Calle!

Kommentera

Publiceras ej